Blood Dungeon Upgrade Guide
See how Blood levels, arena chests, bones, the Dogmancer, and the Bone Shop fit into Blood Dungeon's run and permanent upgrade systems.
How do upgrades work in Blood Dungeon?
Official descriptions present Blood Dungeon progression in two layers. Blood supports the build being assembled during a survival run, while bones support permanent upgrades through the Dogmancer or Bone Shop. Quests also unlock more upgrades, along with arenas and skins.
The distinction matters because “upgrade” can refer to different things. The official Steam page connects collecting Blood and filling a Blood level with building a devastating set of run upgrades. The official Messhof site and Xbox listing separately say that bones taken to the Bone Shop make the player permanently stronger.
Official sources do not publish a complete upgrade catalog, so this page explains the verified structure without inventing upgrade names, values, or a tier list.
What upgrades happen during a run?
Steam says players collect Blood, fill the Blood level, and build up upgrades during survival. That is the clearest official description of the run-upgrade path. It confirms the resource and the relationship, but it does not state the amount of Blood required per level, how choices are generated, or whether later levels follow a different formula.
Hidden chests are another confirmed part of the arena loop. Steam tells players to find chests hidden in each arena while collecting Blood, gold, and bones. It is reasonable to classify chests as part of run exploration, but the official text does not publish chest contents or guarantee a specific upgrade from every chest.
More than 100 weapons and upgrades are advertised as unlockable. That number describes the combined pool in the official marketing copy; it should not be rewritten as “100 weapons” or “100 permanent upgrades.” The checked sources do not provide a split between weapons and other upgrades.
What is permanent progression?
Bones are the resource explicitly tied to permanent power. Steam says bones can be paid to the Dogmancer for permanent upgrades. Messhof and Xbox describe surviving a run, taking bones to the Bone Shop, and getting stronger for the next attempt.
Taken together, the official material supports these statements:
- Bones are collected during dungeon play.
- Surviving with bones is connected to the permanent-progression loop.
- The Dogmancer or Bone Shop is where permanent upgrades are obtained.
- Permanent upgrades are intended to strengthen later attempts.
The wording does not disclose whether every collected bone is retained after every outcome, what “survive” means mechanically, or whether the Dogmancer and Bone Shop are separate interfaces. A source-led guide should not fill those gaps with assumptions.
How do quests affect the upgrade pool?
The official Steam description says quests unlock upgrades, arenas, and skins. This confirms that at least some upgrade availability is gated by quest progress. It does not identify individual quests or match them to named rewards.
For players, the safe takeaway is to check quest objectives when looking for more options. A page claiming an exact quest-to-upgrade route would require verified quest text from the game or an official guide. Neither is included in the checked public sources, so no unlock sequence is presented here.
What can be said about weapons and builds?
Blood Dungeon is officially described as having automatic weapons and a large unlockable pool of weapons and upgrades. That supports the idea of assembling a build during survival, but it does not support rankings.
There is currently no official table in the checked sources for damage, attack intervals, area, duration, rarity, evolution rules, or character-specific compatibility. Balance can also change. For those reasons, labels such as “best weapon,” “S tier,” or “must-buy permanent upgrade” would be opinions or unverified game research, not facts supplied by Messhof or a platform holder.
A future build page can be honest if it records the tested game version, distinguishes observation from official documentation, and includes reproducible numbers. Until that evidence exists, this page stays focused on the upgrade framework.
Verified upgrade framework
| Progression element | Officially confirmed role | Publication boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Blood level | Supports building upgrades during a run. | No official threshold or level formula was found. |
| Hidden chests | Are placed in arenas as part of exploration. | Contents and locations are not published by the checked sources. |
| Bones | Feed permanent progression through the Dogmancer or Bone Shop. | Prices and the full permanent tree are not published. |
| Quests | Unlock upgrades, arenas, and skins. | Individual requirements and rewards are not listed. |
| Weapon and upgrade pool | More than 100 are unlockable in total. | The official split and complete names are not published. |
What do official sources not confirm?
The checked official pages do not confirm individual upgrade names, numerical effects, rarity, stacking rules, rerolls, maximum levels, chest rewards, Blood thresholds, bone prices, refund options, quest-to-upgrade mappings, or an optimal purchase order. They also do not explain the exact function of gold.
Accordingly, this guide does not present a build tier list, a permanent-upgrade priority list, or a farming route. Those require direct, versioned game research rather than extrapolation from store copy.
Sources and update status
This page was last checked on August 27, 2026 against the Steam store listing, Messhof’s official Blood Dungeon page, and the Xbox store listing. The terminology above follows those sources even where their labels differ.
Related Articles
Was this helpful?
Thanks for the feedback!